The fever of PSL 2024 (Pakistan Super League)

Fatima Muhammad

Just like other years, this year's PSL marks as ninth season to be played with many young sensations and emerging players backed by the current backbones of the respective teams and the Pakistan cricket team as well. Like all the seasons, this year we have the same six teams with versatile combinations containing great power hitters and young guns hitting stumps taking wickets of the greats of their teams. This year the game has 34 matches that will be played at 4 different venues including the main cities of Pakistan. Let's have a look at each team's record, highest run scorer, and highest wicket-taker:

Team records:

The Qalandars have won two trophies and Islamabad United has the honor of winning two trophies as well,one in 2016 and the other in 2018. While Zalmis, Gladiators, Sultans, and Kings have won one trophy each. Peshawar Zalmis have won most matches, 49 out of 94 with a win % of 52.13 and Karachi Kings have lost most matches, won 33 out of 86, and lost 50 with a win % of 39.29. 

Man of the match:

Dwayne Smith 2016 Islamabad United
Darren Sammy 2017 Peshawar Zalmi
Luke Ronchi 2018 Islamabad United
M.Hasnain 2019 Quetta Gladiators
Babar Azam 2020 Karachi Kings
Sohaib Maqsood 2021 Multan Sultans
M. Hafeez 2022 Lahore Qalandars
Shaheen Shah Afridi 2023 Lahore Qalandars


Ravi Bopara 2016 Islamabad United
Kamran Akmal 2017 Peshawar Zalmi
Luke Ronchi 2018 Islamabad United
Shane Watson 2019 Quetta Gladiators
Babar Azam 2020 Karachi Kings
Sohaib Maqsood 2021 Multan Sultans
Muhammad Rizwan 2022 Lahore Qalandars
Ihsanullah 2023 Lahore Qalandars

Leading run-scorer:

The former Pakistani skipper and the captain of Peshawar Zalmi, Babar Azam has been the leading run-scorer with 3075 runs with 28 fifties in 79 innings and one century. He has hit 334 fours and 51 sixes with a strike rate of 125.81. He is the fastest player in the world to reach 3k runs in PSL and the fastest one to complete 10k runs in t20is.

Leading wicket-taker:

The retired Wahab Riaz who had been a team member and former captain of team Peshawar Zalmi had taken 113 wickets with an economy of 7.79 and an average of 22.68% in 87 innings.

In conclusion, PSL has produced great talent and has nourished emerging talent such as Muhammad Haris, Saim Ayub, Muhammad Hasnain, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan, Saad  Baig, Abbas Afridi, Ihsan Ullah, Mirza Tahir Baig, Muhammad Wasim jnr., Aamir Jamal and many more. This season is loading with a variety of young guns ready to showcase their talents such as Muhammad Ali, Nafay Khwaja, Jahandad Khan, and Muhammad Zeeshan.


Post a Comment


Post a Comment (0)
To Top